fbpx

Meet the family :
team design

Team Design

After the success of the crowdfunding campaign on Kickstarter, the team began creating the Spring-Summer 2019 collection. The founders of Wibes started to look for a designer specialized in sneakers. That’s how the roads of Julian and Nicolas crossed again.

Julian is a childhood friend of Nicolas. At the age of four, they met on school benches in Abidjan. After not being in touch for many years due to 2004 events in Côte d’Ivoire, they found each other again during a trip to Abidjan in July 2017. Julian is now the lead designer and creative director of the team.

The sneakers have no secrets for Julian who worked for several years with major brands such as Lanvin, Maison Galet or Robert Clergerie, and held various positions as assistant creative director or graphic designer. In addition, Julian is more than familiar with the wax since he helped design patterns on these fabrics back in Abidjan.

Aurélie, Nicolas and Julian have designed the next collection SS19 all together. This is the continuity of the previous collection i.e. “with sleek and refined design, with minimalist and modern lines, with the colorful touches of the Ivorian wax, which are the best representation of the mix of the two cultures that makes Wibes today, “says Julian.

FOLLOW WIBES ON INSTAGRAM

Meet the family :
team design

Team Design

Après le succès de la campagne de financement participatif, l’équipe a commencé à imaginer la collection Printemps-Eté 2019. Les fondateurs de Wibes se sont mis à la recherche d’un designer spécialisé dans les sneakers. C’est comme ça que les routes de Julian et Nicolas se sont à nouveau croisées.

Julian est un ami d’enfance de Nicolas. A l’âge de quatre ans, ils se rencontrent sur les bancs de l’école à Abidjan. Perdu de vu suite aux événements de 2004 en Côte d’Ivoire, et retrouvé lors d’un voyage à Abidjan en juillet 2017, il est aujourd’hui le designer principal et directeur artistique de l’équipe.

Les sneakers n’ont aucun secret pour Julian qui a travaillé plusieurs années auprès de grandes marques tel que Lanvin, Maison Galet ou Robert Clergerie et occupé diverses fonctions comme assistant directeur artistique ou designer graphique. De plus, Julian est plus que familier avec le wax puisqu’il a lui-même désigné des motifs présents sur ces tissus.

Aurélie, Nicolas et Julian ont donc imaginé et designé la prochaine collection SS19 de Wibes. Ils l’ont pensé dans la continuité de la précédente collection c’est à dire “au design élégant et épuré, aux lignes minimalistes et modernes, avec les touches colorées du wax ivoirien, qui sont la meilleure représentation du mélange des deux Univers qui font Wibes aujourd’hui”, précise Julian.

FOLLOW WIBES ON INSTAGRAM